The CFA Institute Research Challenge is an annual global competition that provides university students with hands-on mentoring and intensive training in financial analysis. Students work in teams to research and analyse a publicly traded company.  Teams write a research report on their assigned company with a buy, sell, or hold recommendation and may be asked to present and defend their analysis to a panel of industry professionals.

The New Zealand competition of the 2021 CFA Institute Research Challenge

On 15 October teams from eight NZ universities competed to represent New Zealand in Asia Pacific regional competition.  Kiwi Property Group was the company under scrutiny this year.

Judge, Angus Simpson, CFA, comments; “This is the second time I have judged the Research Challenge and I have been increasingly impressed at the quality of the student’s reports and presentations. Some are such a high standard I forget the students don’t have years of work experience and have only been analysing the company for a couple of months. Those that follow a path into investment banking / funds management will have a bright future.”

First place : University of Auckland

The team from the University of Auckland will represent New Zealand in the regional finals (Asia Pacific).  They are; Flynn Davies, Raewyn Leow, Katy Qiu and Michael Smith.  Best of luck to you all!

The other universities competing on 15 October were; Lincoln University, Massey University, University of Waikato,  Auckland University of Technology (AUT), Victoria University of Wellington, University of Otago, University of Canterbury.

A huge thanks to everyone who contributed:
Industry mentors: Roy Cross (Quay Street), Fiona Foster (Movac), Alvin Hu (Todd Corporation), Jeremy Kincaid (UBS) James Li (NZ Super Fund), Murray Scott (Rank Group), Hayden Stricket (Virtus Data Centres), Yvonne Webb (NZ Super Fund)
Judges: Manuel Greenland (Rank Group), Babara Salazar (NZ Super Fund), Angus Simpson (ANZ)
Organisers:  Mia Prkusic and Beini Guo
Sponsors: Kaplan Schweser



Above: The winning team from University of Auckland in action, presenting to the judges on zoom 
Top row, left to right: Manuel Greenland (judge), Beini Guo (organiser), Flynn Davies (UOA)
Middle row, left to right:  Michael Smith (UOA), Barbara Salazar (judge), Katy Qiu (UOA)
Bottom row, left to right: Raewyn Leow (UOA), Angus Simpson (Judge)

List of 2021 participants

Alisa Innes AUT
Charise Wang AUT
Divyanshu Mathur AUT
Felipe Dos Santos AUT
Sofia Belova AUT
Huiyuan Xie Lincoln University
Joshua Loveday Lincoln University
Ryan Barnes Lincoln University
Shan Jin Lincoln University
Ben Haywood Massey University
James Watson Massey University
Salvatore Reito Massey University
Yingzhao Li Massey University
Flynn Davies University of Auckland
Katy Qiu University of Auckland
Michael Smith University of Auckland
Raewyn Leow University of Auckland
Elizabeth Andre University of Canterbury
Fergus Murray University of Canterbury
Joshua Murison University of Canterbury
Mahtab Mahjor University of Canterbury
Michael Calvert University of Canterbury
Akeira Worthington University of Otago
Alex Rowe University of Otago
Amanda Claire Sim University of Otago
Logan Stadnyk University of Otago
Nathan Hyland University of Otago
Alice Donelley University of Waikato
Haydon Flogdell University of Waikato
Jordan Campbell University of Waikato
Kashika Khanna University of Waikato
Sean Washer University of Waikato
Daniel Winsley Victoria University of Wellington
Rory Macintyre Victoria University of Wellington
Sushil Singh Victoria University of Wellington
Waruna Padmasiri Victoria University of Wellington



Go Back